BrumMAC 2020 (2021): Society for Music Analysis’s Conference, Birmingham, 29. – 31. srpnja 2021.


We are very happy to announce that the Department of Music at the University of Birmingham will be hosting the Society for Music Analysis’s Conference 29-31 July 2021 (‘BrumMAC 2020’).

We are also delighted that our two keynote speakers will be:

Postponed – we have taken the decision to postpone the Society for Music Analysis Conference to 29-31 July 2021. Further information will be announced here in due course.

We thank you for your understanding and patience in this matter, and look forward to welcoming you to the conference as and when it is rescheduled.

Call for Papers:

There will be a fresh call for papers for 2021, with the intention that those with talks accepted for 2020 have the option of keeping them in the programme. There will also be the opportunity for new papers to be submitted.

We welcome paper proposals on any aspect of theory or analysis, relating to music of any genre and historical period.

Submission deadline for proposals: Sunday 19 January 2020

Proposal categories

  • Papers (20 minutes maximum, with 10 minutes for discussion)
  • Paper sessions (three or four papers, each of 20 minutes maximum, with 10 minutes per paper for discussion)
  • Roundtable discussions (up to 5 participants, each giving a short position paper, followed by a general discussion, total running time of 90 minutes)
  • Recitals, lecture-recitals and lectures illustrated by sound diffusions or audio-visual screenings (maximum duration 45 minutes, or longer with the agreement of the organisers, subject to timetabling)

Proposal guidelines

  • For individual papers: 250-word (maximum) abstract
  • For paper sessions: 250-word (maximum) summary and up to 250 words for each session participant
  • For roundtable discussions: 250-word (maximum) summary and up to 150 words for each panel participant
  • For recitals, lecture-recitals and lectures illustrated by sound diffusions or audio-visual screenings: 250-word (maximum) summary, plus participant CVs and recordings / scores / other details of works to be included in the event (contact the organisers to discuss)
  • To aid the process of publishing abstracts we ask that proposals contain neither footnotes nor lists of references.  In-text citations are acceptable.

Further information for applicants

  • To widen participation as much as possible, only one proposal of each type is permitted per applicant
  • Proposals must be sent by email as a MS Word or pdf attachment to
  • Proposals need not be anonymised
  • A number of SMA bursaries are available to help cover the costs of travel and accommodation. For further details and to check eligibility, see
  • Delegates are also welcome to apply to our Development Fund Scheme to cover the cost of attending. For further details, see There is no deadline for this fund, but retrospective applications will not be considered
  • All enquiries should be sent to the organisers at

Programme Committee

  • Chair: Dr Ben Curry (University of Birmingham)
  • Dr Amy Brosius (University of Birmingham)
  • Dr Esther Cavett (King’s College London)
  • Dr Ben Earle (University of Birmingham)
  • Prof Julian Horton (Durham University)
  • Dr Anne Hyland (University of Manchester)
  • Prof Matthew Riley (University of Birmingham)
  • Dr Kenneth Smith (University of Liverpool)