Newcastle Music Analysis Conference (NewMAC 2022) – conference & workshop

Newcastle Music Analysis Conference (NewMAC 2022)

NewMAC 2022 will take place from Monday 11 to Wednesday 13 July 2022 at the International Centre for Music Studies, Newcastle University. The programme committee invites proposals on any aspect of theory or analysis, relating to music of any genre, geographical region, and historical period. We are pleased to announce the following keynote presentations:

James Hepokoski (Yale University), ‘Ninety Seconds of Zarathustra.’
Áine Heneghan (University of Michigan), ‘Metaphors of Musical Morphology: Recovering the Origins of Tight-knit and Loose Organization.’

Submission deadline for proposals: Sunday 27 March 2022, 23.59GMT


Subject: Deadline extension for FTSG Workshop with Áine Heneghan and James Hepokoski

Dear all,

The Formal Theory Study Group (FTSG) invites postgraduate students and early career scholars to attend a workshop on musical form led by two leading music theorists, Dr. Áine Heneghan (University of Michigan) and Prof. James Hepokoski (Yale University). The workshop will take place on 10th July 2022 at Newcastle University, immediately before the SMA’s Music Analysis Conference in Newcastle (NewMAC) on 11th–13th July.

Attending the workshop is free, but participants must join the SMA to be eligible (standard membership is £20, student membership is £10). Participants will be expected to pay for their own travel, but may be eligible to apply for an SMA bursary to support their costs.

Places on this study day are limited, so to help the FTSG Committee decide who will benefit most from attending, please email by 6th May with the following attachments:

    • A one-page CV

  • A short statement (maximum 250 words) on why you would like to attend and how it would benefit you

Best wishes,

The FTSG Committee

Proposal categories

*   Papers (20 minutes maximum, with 10 minutes for discussion)
*   Paper sessions (three or four papers, each of 20 minutes maximum, with 10 minutes per paper for discussion)
*   Roundtable discussions (up to 5 participants, each giving a short position paper, followed by a general discussion, total running time of 90 minutes)
*   Recitals, lecture-recitals, and presentations illustrated by sound diffusions or audio-visual screenings (maximum duration 45 minutes, or longer with the agreement of the organisers, subject to timetabling)

Proposal guidelines

*   For individual papers: 250-word (maximum) abstract
*   For paper sessions: 250-word (maximum) summary and up to 250 words for each session participant
*   For roundtable discussions: 250-word (maximum) summary and up to 150 words for each panel participant
*   For recitals, lecture-recitals, and presentations illustrated by sound diffusions or audio-visual screenings: 250-word (maximum) summary, plus participant CVs and recordings/scores/other details of works to be included in the event (please contact the organisers to discuss)

To aid the process of publishing abstracts we ask that proposals contain neither footnotes nor lists of references. In-text citations are acceptable. Proposals should not contain any diagrams or musical examples.
The conference is planned as an in-person event. Remote presentations will not be considered.

Submitting a proposal
To widen participation as much as possible, only one proposal of each type is permitted per applicant.
Proposals should be sent by email to<> and should include two separate MS Word documents:

1.  The abstract(s). This file should be anonymised.
2.  Speaker biographical notes (max. 150 words for each speaker) including current affiliation.

Funding opportunities
A number of SMA bursaries are available to help cover the costs of travel and accommodation. For further details and to check eligibility, see

Delegates are also welcome to apply to our Development Fund Scheme to cover the cost of attending. For further details, see is no deadline for this fund, but retrospective applications will not be considered.

All enquiries should be sent to the organisers at<>

The conference is organised by the following committee members:

Dr Genevieve Arkle, University of Surrey
Prof. David Clarke, Newcastle University
Dr Ben Curry, University of Birmingham
Dr Christopher Tarrant, Newcastle University (chair)
Dr Sarah Moynihan, University of Manchester
Prof. Kenneth Smith, University of Liverpool
Dr Yvonne Teo, Durham University (conference administrator)
Dr Daniel Walden, Durham University

Dr Christopher Tarrant MA (Oxon) MMus PhD
Lecturer in Music Analysis
Degree Programme Director, MMus, MLitt
Ethics Convenor, School of Arts and Cultures
International Centre for Music Studies
Newcastle University

Dr Christopher Tarrant
Lecturer in Music Analysis
International Centre for Music Studies
Newcastle University